Alfred Elmore – First Attempt

Our artist of the week is Alfred Elmore. He was a great artist. I chose to challenge myself with one of his most popular pieces, “Two Gentlemen of Verona”. This painting was created in reference to shakespeare’s play that goes by the same title.

What’s on the mind of that surly old man?

It’s a very fun image to look at. I’ve been trying to guess what’s going on in the image. So far, I think the older gentlemen is feeling jealous by how the younger man is seducing the lady. From the look of it, he’s kind of moping and not trying to compete, but instead he is sinking into his chair. But I also sense that she may be harboring feeling for the older man. Her gaze is in his direction and it looks like she was sitting on the arm of his chair. So, I have a few questions. Was she already his muse, but now he’s losing her to the competition? Or, does she have more feeling for him but she’s not trying to be rude to the younger gentleman who approached her? And why is he not fighting for her affection?

Anyway, that’s my thought on what’s going on in the painting so far. What I’ve said above is just an educated guess. I do plan on reading Shakespeare’s play, or at least a summary of it before the final challenge so that I can get a better understanding of the narrative. I’m secretly hoping that I got it all wrong because it’ll be more fun when I finally understand what’s going on. I have to say that I am very excited about this painting, which made the challenge a little bit harder.

The painting is very narrative, and there’s so much detail that I felt like I couldn’t do it justice. I was a little afraid to jump right in. Looking closer at the painting, especially on the older gentleman’s face, we can clearly see the amount of detail that Elmore put into it. Under the red hat, the gray hair pops out of the frowning matured face that’s half sunk into his robe. It’s simply beautiful.

Here’s my first attempt.

1_alfredelmore
As always, feel free to comment and let me know your thoughts, especially about what you think is going on in the painting. Also, tell me how your 30 minute painting challenge is going?

Add me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jaceley.frezin
Follow me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jaceleyfrezin/
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/J_Frez

Leave a Reply

