Alfred Elmore – third Attempt

Certainly not my best speed painting.

But who’s judging? Wait, I am!

I completed the third 30 minute session for “Two Gentlemen of Verona” by Alfred Elmore. I have to say, I am a little bit disappointed of the result of this final session. The second attempt was certainly my best out of those three.

3_alfredelmore_sAt some point during the painting, I was worried about what it looked like. I don’t think that attitude helped at all. I was too concerned about the painting looking worse than the second attempt, and it definitely did. I also spent too much time trying to fix things when I should’ve not been worrying about making anything look perfect. I went over certain things and re-do them twice. I feel like during the third session I forgot what this 30 minute challenge is all about.

The goal of the 30 minute challenge

The point of the challenge is to give myself so little time to copy and paint that there isn’t enough time to worry about making things perfect. Overall, the challenge should help me be more accurate and decisive with my brush strokes. So next time, I need to let go and allow things to flow.

 

So this week, I am posting a video of the second attempt. I am also considering if I should make a longer attempt/session each week. I’m thinking about taking the best 30 minute challenge and continue to build on it to see how good I can get it to look. But that also raises several questions. Should the video I am posting on youtube be of the longer session? I feel like viewers will have something nicer to look at. And how long should I spend on this longer session? Would that take time away from my portraits and my landscape paintings?

 

Once I figure out all the questions, I will post what approach I will take with the youtube channel. Anyway, let me know what you think. Also, are you doing the challenge with me? If so, let me know how it’s going. Stay tune for the next post and the new video.

 

Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxBNggn_diK3ZcgfruFGgWQ

Add me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jaceley.frezin

Follow me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jaceleyfrezin/

Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/J_Frez   

Leave a Reply

